New Brunswick. The government of New Brunswick has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Gilbert Finn, CD, was sworn in on August 20, 1987, as lieutenant-governor. The legislature in 1988 had 58 members, all of whom were Liberals.

Quebec. In Quebec, legislative and executive powers are vested in the National Assembly and an executive council. As the representative of the Crown, the lieutenant-governor plays a role in the functioning of both branches. The Honourable Gilles Lamontagne assumed that office on March 28, 1984. The election for the 33rd legislature was held December 2, 1985. Party standings were: 99 Liberals and 23 Parti Québécois.

Ontario. The government of Ontario consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander took office as lieutenant-governor on September 20, 1985. A legislative assembly composed of 130 members was elected September 10, 1987. As of June 29, 1988, there were 94 Liberals, 18 New Democrats, 17 Progressive Conservatives and one vacancy.

In addition to the regular ministries are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Parks Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Manitoba. In addition to a lieutenant-governor, Manitoba has an executive council composed of 16 members and a legislative assembly of 57 members. The Honourable George Johnson was appointed lieutenant-governor on November 14, 1986. In the general election of April 26, 1988, 25 Progressive Conservatives, 20 Liberals and 12 New Democrats were elected to the 34th legislature.

Saskatchewan. The government of Saskatchewan consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable Sylvia O. Fedoruk is the lieutenant-governor. The statutory number of members of the legislative assembly is 64. As of October 15, 1988, Saskatchewan had 37 Progressive Conservatives, 26 New Democrats and one vacancy in the legislative assembly.

Alberta. In addition to the lieutenant-governor (since January 22, 1985, the Honourable Helen Hunley), the government of Alberta is composed of an executive council and a legislative assembly of 83 members. On March 20, 1989, 59 Progressive

Conservatives, 16 members of the New Democratic Party and eight Liberals were elected to form the 22nd legislature.

British Columbia. The government of British Columbia consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly of 69 members. On September 9, 1988, the Honourable David C. Lam took office as lieutenant-governor. As at October 1, 1988 the assembly consisted of 45 Social Credit members, 22 New Democrats, one Independent and one vacancy.

19.6.2 Territorial governments

Yukon. The constitution for the government of the Yukon is based on two federal statutes: the Yukon Act (RSC 1970, c.Y-2) and the Government Organization Act (SC 1966, c.25). The Yukon Act provides for a commissioner as head of government and for a legislative body called the Yukon legislative assembly. Under the Government Organization Act, the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada is responsible (with the Governor-in-Council) for directing the commissioner in the administration of the Yukon.

In 1979, the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada brought in changes which altered the executive level of the Yukon government. It now consists of five elected members of the Yukon legislative assembly who are appointed to an executive council or cabinet by the commissioner, upon the recommendation of the government leader. The commissioner is still the senior representative of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada in the Yukon and performs duties similar to those of a lieutenant-governor in relation to the legislature. The executive council members are assigned portfolio responsibilities by the government leader.

The Yukon Act delineates the jurisdiction of the legislative assembly. It is like those of the provincial assemblies and has jurisdictional control of all matters of a local nature except that the federal government, through Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, retains control of the Yukon's renewable and non-renewable natural resources. Jurisdiction for the territory's wildlife rests with the Yukon government. The legislature is called into session by the commissioner on the advice of the majority party leader.

Legislative authority for the Yukon is vested in the Commissioner-in-Council. All bills must be approved by council and assented to by the commissioner before becoming law. As in other jurisdictions, the Governor-in-Council may